Site Search Order Information Home Contact
Open Court Publishing Company

Rick and Morty and Philosophy 

Click to Enlarge

ISBN 978-0-8126-9464-2

$19.95
paper

x + 230 pages

2019

Buy It Now

Rick and Morty and Philosophy

In the Beginning Was the Squanch

Edited by Lester C. Abesamis and Wayne Yuen
Volume 125 in the Popular Culture and Philosophy® series

“Are weddings just funerals with cake? What about that universe where Hitler cured cancer? Is love simply a chemical reaction? Is a Pop-Tart living inside a toaster suicidal or just a realist? For the answers to these burning questions and so many more, pick up this damn book. Read some Descartes, Plato, Nietzsche, and Sartre so that before you die, and we’re all gonna die, or turn yourself into a pickle, you’ll know shit. After that, go watch TV.”

—Kimberly Baltzer-Jaray, Sessional Lecturer for Philosophy, Women’s Studies, and Social Justice and Peace Studies (yes, really) at King’s University College (Western)

 “Possible worlds, the ends justify the means, perception is reality, God might be something another god made up, and, of course, hostile xenomorph-like insectoids that want to destroy the planet . . . Rick and Morty is just jam-packed with philosophy, as this marvelous book proves.”

 — Robert Arp, editor of 1001 Ideas to Inspire You Before You Die (2016)

 “In today’s topsy-turvy world, Rick and Morty and Philosophy embraces the irony that a cartoon can remind us of what’s real in our lives. The authors take us on an insightful, challenging, and exhilarating journey through one of TV’s most clever shows.”

— Jamey Heit, editor of Vader, Voldemort, and Other Villains (2011)

 “Fans of Rick and Morty will get a huge kick out of this fascinating exploration of the philosophical themes embedded in their wacky cosmic adventures.”

— Sander Lee, author of Woody Allen’s Angst (2013)

 “ Rick and Morty forces viewers to become invested and involved, regarding such real-life topics as terrorism, ethics, the cosmos, and the meaning of our own lives amidst it all. Rick and Morty and Philosophy should be required reading for any fan of the show.”

— Jack Bowen, author of The Dream Weaver: One Boy’s Journey through the Landscape of Philosophy (2006)

 Lester C. Abesamis teaches philosophy at Chabot College and Ohlone College in California.

 Wayne Yuen is Professor of Philosophy at Ohlone College. He edited The Walking Dead and Philosophy: Zombie Apocalypse Now (2012) and The Ultimate Walking Dead and Philosophy: Hungry for More (2016).

 

 

Open Court Publishing Company · 70 East Lake Street · Suite 800 · Chicago, Illinois 60601br /> Copyright 2013
Phone: 1-800-815-2280
opencourt@cricketmedia.com
Fax: 1-312-701-1728